• Sat. Apr 20th, 2024

Check here complete schedule of women’s cricket at Asian Games in Hangzhou. (Credits: X)

Harmanpreet Kaur-led Indian women’s cricket team are set to begin their quest for the Asian Games gold medal with a meeting against Malaysia, check full schedule here

Harmanpreet Kaur-led Indian women’s cricket team are set to begin their quest for the gold medal at the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou as the Women in Blue will take on Malaysia in their first quarterfinal fixture.

This will be the first time the Indian women’s cricket team will be competing in the Asian Games and they will be expected to win the game against Malaysia with ease. Cricket returns to the Asian Games after nine years, and both men’s as well as women’s cricket games will be played in T20 format.

The first quarter-final clash between India and Malaysia will be played on September 21, Thursday at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field in Hangzhou.

ALSO READ| Asian Games 2023: Medal Tally,  Schedule, Results, Date, Venues & More

8 teams are competing for the gold medal in the women’s cricket competition, which started on September 19. The final is on September 25, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh – the top-four ranked teams in the ICC Women’s T20I rankings were seeded directly for the Quarter-finals.

The remaining four teams, Indonesia, Mongolia, Hong Kong China and Malaysia were divided in two groups of two teams each.

Indonesia beat Mongolia in the Group A clash by 172 runs, while Malaysia beat Hong Kong China by 22 runs in the Group B clash on September 19.

In the Quarter-final qualifier game, Hong Kong China beat Mongolia by 180 runs on September 20.

Women’s Cricket Schedule for the 19th Asian Games

All four Quarter-final fixtures of the women’s cricket in the 19th Asian Games are decided now, India will take on Malaysia on September 21, followed by Pakistan’s meeting against Indonesia in Quarterfinal 2.

On September 22, Sri Lanka will take on Thailand in Quarterfinal 3 while Bangladesh will take on Hong Kong China in Quarterfinal 4.

Credits: Asian Cricket Council

The four semifinals will be in action on September 24, Sunday. The winner of Quarterfinal 1 between India and Malaysia will take on the winning team from Quarterfinal 4 between Bangladesh and Hong Kong China.

ALSO READ| Asian Games: Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur Cheer for Indian Football Team; Smriti Mandhana Shares Video

The winner of Quarterfinal 2 between Pakistan and Indonesia will meet the winner of Quarterfinal 3 between Sri Lanka and Thailand.

The two losing semifinalists will thereafter meet on September 25 for the bronze medal match, and the two finalists will meet in the summit clash on Monday in the gold medal match.

The Indian women’s team under the captaincy of Harmanpreet Kaur had won the silver medal at Commonwealth Games last year losing to Australia but they will be firm favourites for the gold medal at the Asian Games.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *