• Thu. Jun 8th, 2023

Another thriller on the cards as Punjab Kings-Mumbai Indians face-off

Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Mumbai Indians (MI) will face each other in Indian Premier League (IPL) match number 46 on Wednesday at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

PBKS started their campaign with a narrow 7 run victory, via DLS method, over Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), then beat Rajasthan Royal (RR) by 5 wickets but lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets. They then lost to Gujarat Titans (GT) by 6 wickets and bounced back to beat Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 2 wickets and then lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore by 24 and beat Mumbai Indians (MI) by 13 points. They lost to Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 56 runs but beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 4 wickets.

MI, on the other hand, started their campaign with a loss to Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 8 wickets and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 7 wickets. They then beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 14 runs and lost to Punjab Kings (PBKS) by 13 runs and to Gujarat Titans (GT) by 55 runs but beat Rajasthan Royal (RR ) by 6 wickets.

IPL Points Table 2023: Check Team Ranking, Team Points, Wins & Losses

What: Punjab Kings (PBKS) vs Mumbai Indians (MI), IPL 2023 Match 46

When: May 3, Wednesday

Or: Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

Start time: 7:30 p.m. IST

Mumbai Indian News

A win will give MI the much-needed boost on the points board, while a loss will see them slip further and chart a familiar course like the previous edition. MI had finished 10th and last in the previous edition.

The Mumbai side are currently ranked seventh with eight points from eight matches and things are not looking good for Rohit Sharma’s side.

Victory against the Rajasthan Royals at Wankhede Stadium on April 30, however, would have instilled some confidence in the MI side after chasing a whopping 212 with three balls to spare to earn two valuable points.

IPL 2023: Orange Cap Full list of hitters with the most runs, Check here

Victory was claimed by Singapore-born Australian cricketer Tim David, who broke three trotting sixes in the final during his unbeaten 45 run from 14 to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

While there were vital contributions from India’s T20 specialist hitter Suryakumar Yadav (55), Australian all-rounder great Cameron Green (44), Ishan Kishan (28) and Tilak Varma (29 not out), none have could match the ferocity of David’s blows.

The 27-year-old mid-level hitter smashed five sixes and two limits at a strike rate over 300 as the Mumbai Indians won at home.

Punjab Kings Team News

A similar commitment would be needed against the Punjab Kings, who are known for playing aggressive cricket, although their biggest drawback is an unreliable top order.

With the exception of Shikhar Dhawan and, to some extent, his opening partner Prabhsimran Singh, very few PBKS hitters have contributed enough to their overall total, although that all changed in their previous game against the Chennai Super Kings at Chepauk on April 30.

IPL 2023: Purple Cap Full List of Hitters with Most Runs, Check Here

Set a stark target of 200 runs by the MS Dhoni side, the entire top and middle order came to the party to win a last-ball thriller by four wickets. With Prabhsimran and Dhawan establishing a good base on the power play, England’s all-rounder Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran and wicket-striker Jitesh Sharma all helped make this a memorable chase.

The team, however, will likely have to contend with the fiery pace of Mumbai Indians’ Jofra Archer, who was back in the game against the Rajasthan Royals, exceeding his quota of overs and also taking a wicket.

The form of MI skipper Rohit, however, is the five-time IPL champions’ biggest concern and much would depend on the India captain on Wednesday to bolster his side, having contributed just three points in the game against the Royals.

Full squads:

Kings of Punjab: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Rahul Chahar, Sam Curran, Rishi Dhawan, Nathan Ellis, Gurnoor Brar, Harpreet Brar, Harpreet Singh, Vidwath Kaverappa, Liam Livingstone, Mohit Rathee, Prabhsimran Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Bhanuka Rajapaksa , M Shahrukh Khan, Jitesh Sharma, Shivam Singh, Matthew Short, Sikandar Raza, Atharva Taide.

Bombay Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Jofra Archer, Arshad Khan, Jason Behrendorff, Dewald Brevis, Piyush Chawla, Tim David, Raghav Goyal, Cameron Green, Ishan Kishan, Duan Jansen, Chris Jordan, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Riley Meredith, Shams Mulani , Ramandeep Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Hrithik Shokeen, Tristan Stubbs, Arjun Tendulkar, Tilak Varma, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera, Suryakumar Yadav.

With PTI inputs

Get the latest cricket news, IPL 2023 live score, orange cap and purple cap holder details here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *