How many layers of the earth?

How many layers of the earth? There are many layers of the earth, and each layer differs from the other with its components and elements that make up it, and through the reference site, we will talk in this article about how many layers of the globe, the layers of the earth in order,  and the components of each layer, in addition to some pictures that explain the layers of the earth and the concept of science that Describe the layers of the Earth.

What is the science of describing the layers of the earth?

The stratigraphy of the earth is known as that science that is concerned with the study of the various laws and conditions that control the formation of layers of rocks, and the places in which they are deposited in various parts of the world. It is the science of sedimentation, as this science is concerned with the study of everything related to sedimentation.

How many layers of the earth?

The Earth has three main layers, which, according to the division of scientists, consists of the underground layer, which consists of the nucleus located in the center of the globe, the mantle layer, and the surface layer of the Earth, which consists of a thin crust. A layer of the three layers of the earth is divided into several different parts, and thus the number of layers of the earth totals about seven layers.

Layers of the Earth


The crust in general consists of several important elements, and in different proportions, and these elements are: oxygen, silicon, aluminum, iron, calcium, magnesium, potassium, and sodium, and the earth’s crust is divided into nine tectonic plates and 12 small plates, and these plates may lead to the occurrence of Earthquakes and mountains, due to their large movement, or the formation of cracks and grooves due to their distance from each other, and the crust is divided into two basic layers, namely:

  • Oceanic crust: It is between 1 and 10 km in length and makes up two-thirds of the Earth’s crust, and it is mostly of basaltic rocks.
  • Continental crust: It is the crust that covers one-third of the Earth’s area, and its thickness is between 35-and 70 km.

mantle layer

It is called the middle layer that lies between the crust and the core, and it has an area of ​​about 84% of the volume of the globe, and its thickness is approximately 2,900 km, and this layer is characterized by high temperatures in it, which range between 1000 and 3700 degrees Celsius, and the mantle layer consists of rocks Silicates that contain oxides of magnesium, iron, aluminum, calcium, potassium and sodium, and this layer is divided into three sections:

  • The upper mantle:  This layer is located directly under the Earth’s crust and is separated by the Moho discontinuity, which is 8 km thick at the bottom of the oceans, and 32 km in the Carat. This layer is divided into two parts:
  • The lithosphere: It is the layer that is at the top close to the earth’s crust, and its depth reaches 100 km.
  • The fluid envelope: It is called the Moresphere, and it contains high-temperature plastic materials that create convection currents between the upper layer and the Mori shell. The depth of the fluid envelope layer ranges between 100 and 410 km.
  • The lower mantle:  It is called the mesosphere, and it extends at a depth of 660-2700 km below the surface of the earth, and this layer is characterized by higher temperatures in it than the upper mantle layer and separates the upper and lower mantle layers, a layer called transition, and its depth ranges between 410 and 660 km below the surface of the earth, The density of the rocks in it is very high, and it takes the form of crystals, and this layer is characterized by preventing the transfer of materials between the upper and lower mantle, which makes it maintain the level of the Muri mantle constant, and prevents its implantation in the lower mantle.
  • Layer (D): This layer is located under the lower mantle above the outer core, with a depth of up to 2,900 km below the surface of the earth, and it is very shallow.

pulp layer

It is the nucleus layer, and it is the center of the globe. It also consists of two basic layers:

  • The outer core:  It is a liquid layer consisting of molten nickel and iron metals, and the temperature in it is between 4500 and 5500 degrees Celsius, and the thickness of the outer core layer is about 2200 km.
  • The inner core:  It consists of iron and nickel minerals as the outer core layer, but in their solid-state and not molten, due to the great pressure in this layer, which prevents the metals from turning into a liquid state, and the pressure value is about 3.6 million atmospheric pressure, and the thickness of the inner core layer reaches 1250 km, The temperature ranges between 5500 and 7000 degrees Celsius.

How many layers of the earth areas are mentioned in the Holy Quran?

Scientists and researchers probed the depths of the Earth and studied in detail its layers, number, and components. After we thought that the number of layers of the Earth was only three, the scientists came to explain what God Almighty said in his dear book, specifically in Surat Al-Talaq: “God is the one who created the seven heavens and the heavens.” like them”

Where the previous verse indicates that the number of layers of heaven is seven heavens, and God Almighty created the earth like them, that is, He created the earth from seven layers, and many studies carried out by geologists have confirmed that the globe actually consists of seven layers on top of each other.

And here, we have come to the end of our article titled, How Many Layers of the Earth? Where we got acquainted with the science of studying the layers of the Earth, the number of layers of the globe, as well as the components of each layer.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top